top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Kale

Reflection


As my Biodiversity Stewardship course and summer wrap up and the time comes to begin again in another school year teaching, it is nice to look back at what I have accomplished this summer. I have learned a lot about using technology, especially phone apps, as a tool to help better understand the ecosystems around us. I have never thought much about soil and trees, I prefer zoology concepts, but it is all connected and so very important. The dendrology exercise was a great opportunity to better understand the plant life in Lake Shenandoah and my area overall. The beautiful tree species that we often see and want are often not native and not often positive for local wildlife. This applies to so many ornamental plants that we deal with in our gardens around our homes.


Of course, I could not have done any of this without my little buddy, Percy. He was an awesome partner for this study. My additional personal takeaway from this study is the reminder to enjoy nature, slow down, and take the time to breathe. I also fell into an opportunity to help support the nature around me by getting my "Restore the Wild" membership with the Virginia DWR.


So again, my good friends, enjoy the nature around you - it is the best anxiety and stress relief. Remember that beauty may not always be around unless we take big strides to protect it. Lastly, nature exploration can be a solo or team "sport," so take a friend - human or otherwise. --- much love ---- Ashley



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Can You Do?

Now that you are in love with the beautiful habitats surrounding Lake Shenandoah, you are likely feeling compelled to do something. Small things you can do would include managing your waste. Consider

bottom of page